Reckless Driving in Fairfax, Virginia
Like any other city or county based in Virginia, Fairfax has the same amount of laws with the same strict policy. Fairfax is one of the most prominent in Virginia. It has often been asked if the laws of reckless driving are different in Fairfax compared to other counties or cities or not. Well, every county or city in Virginia has the same policy. The United States has many states, and the state laws are applied to their respective limit. If a person from any other state visits Fairfax and commit a crime, then he will be charged according to the code of Virginia.
When does it apply?
Reckless driving code activates if an individual breaks any law. It could be speeding, crossing an emergency vehicle, crossing a stopped school bus or going over 80mph. There is a speed limit in all counties or cities in Virginia; 80mph. Going over 80mph will be a warning for you and if you cross 100mph. You will definitely get charged with a reckless driving ticket. In Fairfax, if you are asked by an officer to stop or if you see any sign which is asking you to stop, then do stop or you will receive a ticket on your home, maybe with exaggerated charges for not stopping and not listen to the officer. Reckless driving in Fairfax is a criminal charge as per the code of Virginia. If you are convicted with the criminal charge once in your life, then there is no way out of it, and it will stay with you for the rest of your being.
If you are charged with the reckless driving charge, then it is going to stay with you in your DMV for 11 years minimum, and that carries six points. In some states of the United States, the court and the judges give leverage to an individual on their first offense. Whereas in Fairfax, Virginia, it is not like that, and the judge will not offer the convicted person driving school. So, it is always suggested to study the laws before you are going to do anything. Probation before judgment in Virginia doesn’t exist like other states. There will be points by the judge and the penalty. In Fairfax, reckless driving is class 1 misdemeanor crime. There will be a maximum of 12 months in jail for the convicted person or $2,500 fine maximum or in worst cases; it could be both for the criminal.
If there is a chance of going to jail, then the Fairfax court will appoint you an attorney to fight for your case and if you could, then lower down your penalty. But, if there is anything opposite to what we have discussed, then the court will not appoint you any lawyer, and if you want to, you can do it on your own to lower your penalty or to drop the criminal charge you have received by the court.